Ezetimibe on it's own?

A message board to discuss personal experiences of Vytorin and its side effects.

Ezetimibe on it's own?

Postby Neetka » Sat Dec 01, 2007 8:03 am

Hi. Hello to all.
On the strength of my last blood test results my doctor prescribed:
Ezetimibe 10mg, (replacing Crestor)
Bendroflumethiazide (diuretic)
Aspirin 75mg
Glyceryl trinitrate spray
I found only general info about Ezetimibe, which my doctor claims, is NOT a statin. Yet listed side effects almost exactly match those of statins.
Has anyone used this drug and can share the experience? I am very reluctant to start.
I am 66 yo female, I have been using Crestor for 12 months. I stopped it 6 months ago because of classic side-effects many of you describe here.
In the last 6 months I was experimenting with low dozes of CoQ10 and L-Carnitine. Feel much better, although my bad cholesterol (3.9 against normal 2.0) is now higher than it was before I started on Crestor, 18 months ago. My BP is quite high at times and I am having occasional bad chest pains lasting 2-3 days.
Thank you
Neetka

Postby ronni » Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:38 am

Hi Neetka,