lipitor and severe muscle pain.

A message board to discuss personal experiences of Lipitor and its effects.

lipitor and severe muscle pain.

Postby woody » Mon May 29, 2006 6:20 am

Hi,

I am a 58 year old grandmother and quite fit. I work full time as a clerk
for a catering company.

I had a TIA in April 04 (which I thing was due to migraine). The doctors prescribed blood presssure medication, aspirin and a statin.

The first statin did not seem to work ( I cannot remember the name) so my doctor prescribed Lipitor, 40mg at first then after 6 months 30mg.

In Dec 05 I started to get a severe pain in my right calf, I went to the doctors but she did not have any idea what it was. I was taking HRT at the time and was worried that it might be a blood clot so stopped taking it.

The pain was getting worse so I started to do research on the internet, describing the pain and seeing what suggestions it came up with.After a couple of weeks I began to suspect it might be the statin so went back to the doctor and asked for a CK test. This came back normal so the doctor ( a different one to the first doctor) said I could continue to take the statin although he did not have any explanation for the pain

I decided for myself in Feb 06 that it must be the statin and stopped taking it. I returned to the doctors ( a different one again) and asked what could be done about the pain, all she could suggest was to take a pain killer and in the mean time she would refer me to the hospital (my appt is in Aug 06) she again said that it was not the statin causing the pain.