Introduction and question

A message board to discuss personal experiences of Lipitor and its effects.

Introduction and question

Postby rickomatic » Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:28 pm

Allow me to introduce myself and to also thank you all for the wealth of knowledge I've already gained from this site.
My name is Rick. I am a 57 year old male living in the Pacific NW, and I am just beginning my journey of knowledge on statin drugs.
I've been on Lipotor 20 mg for about 4 years and up until recently have shown no ill effects. Until 3 weeks ago.
I had an approximately 6 hour Transient Global Amnesia event a couple Friday's ago, and it scared the you know what out of me. While bringing a heavy file cabinet up from out basement I suddenly realized that there was "something wrong" with me, as I couldn't seem to remember firstly why I was bringing the file cabinet up, and secondarily, anything else other than where I was, who I was, and recognition of those around me. Luckily, my 19 year old daughter was home, since her morning college class had been canceled. She called my wife who promptly instructed her to call 911 as it seemed as though I was having possibly a stroke. Upon evaluation by the EMT's I was taken to the hospital for various tests (CT, sonogram of the carotid arteries, MRI, blood work etc. etc. and since an EEG). All proved "normal". I was kept overnight in the hospital for observation and left the next morning. The event began around 10 AM on Friday, and I was completely cognizant by I would say 3 or 4 PM. I was given a medical paper by the attending physician explaining TGA, but nowhere in that literature were statin drugs listed as being a possible causal affect.
Of course once I got home I ran to the internet to better educate myself. One of the places I found was this site, and I must say it was as many here have attested. I knew that I was not alone. Thank God.