Skyhigh numbers

A forum to discuss cholesterol and the meaning of blood cholesterol levels.

Skyhigh numbers

Postby robert » Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:33 am

Hi
This is my first post here. I recently got blood work done for a physical; needless to say the doctor freaked. My total was off the chart, as well as the LDL. He's going to put me on a statin for sure, and I am terrified; he says it going to be for life.

I had been eating a high-fat low-carb diet for about two years. I got my weight down to 156, but needed to lose 10 more lbs. I tried the Stillmans Diet, which meant I ate a ton of eggs, approximately 6o-75 over two weeks. I dropped 13 lbs in the first week. I have heard from Taubes book something called [i]transient hypercholesterolemia[/i], which is a spike in the cholesterol due to rapid weight loss. As it happens, many, many fat cells burst and release the cholesterol into the blood. I'm wondering if this is part of what could have happened.

As I said, I am terrified. My doc seems adamant about statin therapy so I'm caught between a rock and a hard place. Does anyone know if niacin therapy is as effective as statin therapy for familiarhypercholesterolemia?

I live in Western North Carolina btw, if anyone knows of good open minded doctors.

thanks for any who can help me.

robert
robert

Postby marci » Sat Jul 19, 2008 8:12 pm