ALS or statin-related ALS-Like Syndrome

A forum to discuss personal experiences and share information on statins and other cholesterol lowering drugs.

ALS or statin-related ALS-Like Syndrome

Postby Nancy W » Sun Apr 10, 2016 11:08 am

I have been reading and posting on spacedoc.com for almost 7 years. Initially I came to this page because I had developed severe polyneuropathy just one month into taking Red Yeast Rice (suggested by my cardiologist, since I had had issues with Lipitor years before - myopathy/pain after only one month on Lipitor. Same old story: cardiologist orders blood test for cholesterol levels, declares mine to be high, and pushes statins. Unfortunately, even though I am a physical therapist, as well as a medical social worker, I had never heard any of the stories about statins, until I found spacedoc.com. Well the years have gone by, 17 years since the Lipitor exposure, and 7 years since the Red Yeast Rice exposure. I quit both drugs immediately with onset of side-effect symptoms. It took three months to get over the muscle pain from one month of Lipitor, and three years for the neuropathy to (partially) resolve and stabilize, with a residual of numbness, and sometimes pain, in my toes. But, it appears that was only the beginning of my problems. Two years ago, I started experiencing isolated twitching of some muscles next to my spine. In the year that followed, I was under a lot of stress, primarily caused by moving, and then having to commute 5 hours round trip, in Seattle's terrible traffic, to and from my physical practice. After a year of the isolated twitching and two falls, the twitching generalized to my entire body. That got my attention. That was a year ago. In the last year, I suffered severe insomnia, and the only relief I got came from medical marijuana, with which I could sleep. Beginning last summer, I was suffering from fatigue, and evidence of weakening. At the point that this started I was walking 10-15K steps a day, including