Statins are Destructive

A forum to discuss personal experiences and share information on statins and other cholesterol lowering drugs.

Statins are Destructive

Postby NurseJudy » Sat Oct 15, 2005 9:36 am

I am a Magna Cum Laude Graduate with a Bachelor's in Nursing who helped manage a 40 bed ICU. I was involved in training nurses, paramedics, and doctors. I know all drugs have side effects, toxic effects, and individual adverse reactions. My father has been on statin drugs for about 10 years. His doctor threatened to cancel his insurance when he wanted to stop his statin drug. This was despite muscle pain, weakness, loss of memory, constant chest pain (never related to anything when he went to the ER), skin problems, fatigue, loss of balance, loss of libido, neuropathy, and now loss of ability to urinate on his own. (To name but a few). I am shocked that MD's are so poorly informed about the side effects of statin drugs, and seem to think these drugs are the answer for a multitude of conditions. Even diabetics are now encouraged to use them to prevent heart disease - and they already have problems with nerve damage! The of destruction Co Q10 and dilochol by these drugs is enough to make one shudder. The cure is, in my opinion, definitely worse than the disease. If I had a choice, I would keep my elevated cholesterol and avoid the drugs at all costs. I know people who have experienced paralysis and debilitating pain, without doctors recognizing the relationship to the statin drugs. These were relatives of friends who are nurses. Their symptoms almost always improved or disappeared when they stopped their drugs. Many things like our brains, nerves, and hormones need cholesterol to work. In all this discussion of cholesterol, no one talks about homocysteine, nano-bacteria, inflammation, or triglycerides - all related to heart disease. Do you think this could be because there is no medication for these problems yet? I predict that this class of drugs will be our next