Red Yeast Rice - Update on my progress

A forum to discuss personal experiences and share information on statins and other cholesterol lowering drugs.

Red Yeast Rice - Update on my progress

Postby Nancy W » Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:17 pm

Greetings, It has now been exactly three months since I had the onset of severe neuropathic pain that I suspected came from the RYR I had been taking for the previous 6 weeks. I stopped the RYR immediately. Perhaps ten years previously, I had muscle pain with an elevated CK after one month of Lipitor and it took about 12 weeks for the sympotmos of muscle pain to dissapate following stopping the Lipitor.

This time, I got talked into RYR by the doctor saying it was not as strong...
I should have known better.

This time, I had no muscle involvement at all, though interestingly enough, my nurse practitioner diagnosed it as "myalgia." I am a physical therapist, and the pain was clearly neuropathic, following the course of the nerves in my legs and arms. In the beginning of August, I had pain in my toes, then feet and ankles, later calves, and finally frommy but to my toes. It progressed at the same time, to hands, then forearms and hands and finally armpits to hands. The pain levels were 8-9/10 at that point. I found this website.

With the help of some of the members on this forum, as well as all the reading I did, including Dr. Gravlines books, and Dr. Golomb's article, I fiigured out what was going on, and began the supplements loosely called the Mitochondrial Cocktail.