Thyroid Cancer

A forum to discuss personal experiences and share information on statins and other cholesterol lowering drugs.

Thyroid Cancer

Postby ronni » Wed Mar 18, 2009 5:10 pm

Hello everyone,

My medical saga unfortunately continues on and on...it's amazing how healthy I was pre-statins! I was wondering if anyone has any information about statin damage and thyroid cancer. I was just diagnosed with papillary thyroid cancer and must undergo a thyroidectomy next month. I firmly believe statins had a role in triggering my hypothyroidism but I haven't read anything anywhere about a connection with cancer. Any thoughts?
ronni

Postby Allen1 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 5:04 am

Hi there ronni,

I think that what you have been diagnosed with has shocked most of us and we really don't know what to say for the best. We have heard that statins can increase the risk of cancer but I have had no experience with anyone else with cancer and statins, only one or the other.

Good luck with the operation and the after treatment, things have greatly improved over the years on that front so don't let yourself get too anxious about the procedure and just try to take things as they come ok.

I realise that any operation is hard not to think about or even worry over, but the important thing to remember is that the people who will do the op have done it and similar ones so many times before that it is second nature to them and they have seen any or all the variations between patients many time before.

Take care ronni and all the best, Allen.
Allen1

Postby ronni » Sat Mar 21, 2009 9:59 am