Do exercise & simple activities worsen muscle pain?

A forum to discuss personal experiences and share information on statins and other cholesterol lowering drugs.

Do exercise & simple activities worsen muscle pain?

Postby jazzbird925 » Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:39 pm

Hi all.

I'm relatively new to this - I took no more than 6 weeks' worth of 2 different satins before stopping last month due to horrific shoulder & arm (most bicep) pain and popping. Arm mobility & flexibility is a problem too

I work out regularly but took a break from lifting light weights (5, 10, 12-1/2 pounds) since my arms and shoulders hurt so much.

I've discovered that simple things - carrying my purse, or groceries etc, washing the kitchen floor with a mop, vacuuming - all seem to worsen the pain within 24 hours. I feel like I've been lifting 100-pound weights.

I used a cross trainer for the first time in 10 days yesterday & paid a high price last night - severe arm/shoulder pain. Usually the pain & discomfort occur only with use or pressure (laying or leaning on an arm) but last night my right arm hurt horribly for hours. I'm on a regime of 100 mg of CO10 12 days ago but thus far, feel no improvement.

Has anyone else experienced delayed, increased pain after exercise, lifting, pushing etc?

Thank you in advance for any responses.
jazzbird925

Postby flacorps » Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:21 pm

Assuming you had incipient rhabdomyolysis, look up "rhabdo treatment" ... probably at this point the best thing to do is eat a lot of carbs at small meals throughout the day and gradually improve your strength with gentle, progressive strength training.

However, I would not want to dissuade anyone from seeing a doctor about this sort of situation.
flacorps

Postby Ray Holder » Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:55 pm

Hi Jazzbird