Experience with very low doses?

A forum to discuss personal experiences and share information on statins and other cholesterol lowering drugs.

Experience with very low doses?

Postby prof » Fri Dec 02, 2005 2:03 am

I am new to Lipitor, and wary, but I have decided to try it at very low doses, vigilance, and supplementation with at least 240 mg. of CoQ10 per day. Low means 2.5 mg per day; I break a 10 into four pieces.

Based on "home tests" (not very reliable but something) even this small a dose has lowered my TCL substantially. I am aware of the relative meaninglessness of that number, but it is at least an indicator that this small amount of Lipitor can be quite effective by its own standards. I also take it at night, on an empty stomach. Since the label notes that a large percentage of the drug is reduced in plasma when taken with meals (but no loss of "efficacy") I drew the conclusion that a lesser amount might be equally effetive if taken on an empty stomach.

Anyone else try very low dosing?

prof
prof

Postby SusieO » Fri Dec 02, 2005 11:49 am

I had lowered my 10 mgs to 5 and still had problems. I hope the 2.5 works for you!
SusieO

Postby prof » Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:03 pm

thanks, Susie. Perhaps someone can tell us how strong is the science we have re: the relationship between dosing and adverses. From what I've read, some correlation is suggested (as we'd expect), but I wonder how robust the evidence is. And, of course, there will always be a wide range of individual sensitivities, etc.

I am most specifically concerned about neuropathy since I already have some compromised nerves as a result of lower spine problems. Last thing I need/want is worsening of nerve function there. So I also wonder whether there is any evidence that already compromised nerves may be more "vulnerable," as would seem logical.

prof
prof

Postby JIMNSC » Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:29 pm